There are two types of permission levels in Shufflrr. These are Content Permissions and Functional Permissions. In this post, we will explore Content Permissions.
Content Permissions refer to which files users are allowed to access. They are management through folders. Any folder that you create within your Shufflrr account is by default, only available to you. Unless you provide Content Permissions to others, only you will see the folders you create. And this is great, because there may be times when you want a personal folder to hold content that you don’t want to share with anyone else. On the other hand, there are many benefits in sharing your folder.
To Share or Not to Share?
New Shufflrr sites have two folders by default to help you get started (but you can change those, anytime). The objective is to serve the overall branding needs of the company, with the day to day needs of the individual. So we recommend setting up a few folders filled with branded, compliant slides that are accessible for all users so they can find the content they need, while giving each user a private space where they have the flexibility to save custom presentations.
The two folders already created for you by default are:
- Global Presentations – Global Presentations is accessible to All Users. This is where you save master files, that you expect your team to use when creating their own presentations. This is where you create your library of branded, up-to-date slides. It’s the go to folder where your users know they can find the right materials for their meetings.
- My Presentations –The My Presentations folder is unique to each individual user; it’s their private folder that no one else can see or access. Every user has a My Presentations folder
To share your folder with others in your organization, follow these steps:
- Log into your Shufflrr account. By default, Shufflrr shows you the Presentations area when you log in, as can be seen in Figure 1, below.
Figure 1: Presentations Area in Shufflrr
- Select any of your folders on the left panel, by clicking on the Down Arrow button towards the right of the folder name, as shown highlighted in red within Figure 2, below.
Figure 2: Select a folder
- Doing so brings up the contextual menu that you see in Figure 3, below. In this menu, you will see the Permissions option. Click this option.
Figure 3: Select the Permissions option
No Permissions Option?
Is the Permissions option within your contextual menu grayed out? This may happen if you don’t have privileges to share this folder—this can often happen if someone else shared their folder with you.
Most of the time, the Permissions option will not be grayed out for folders you have created.
- Clicking on Permissions brings up the Folder Permissions dialog box that you can see in Figure 4, below.
Figure 4: Folder Permissions
- Options within this dialog box are explained below, as marked in Figure 4:
A. Email Addresses
In this text box, you can type in the email address, the name of someone, or a user group within your organization. Shufflrr will attempt to autocomplete for you so that you don’t have to type the complete name. Note that there may be times when the email address or name that you type finds no matches, even though someone of that name does work in your organization, as shown in Figure 5, below.
Figure 5: No matched options
In such cases, you won’t be able to share folders with these members of your organization, until they are added as users within your company’s Shufflrr account. Please contact the system administrator or another person responsible for your company’s Shufflrr account for more information, and to request adding a user.
If you do find the name of a person you want to share the folder with, you can select their name within the Autocomplete area, as shown in Figure 6, below.
Figure 6: Matched options
Note that you can add multiple users to share your folder with—just make sure you separate users with a comma. If your organization’s Shufflrr account has groups created. which are already populated with users, then you can also type in the group name in this box to provide folder access permissions to all users within that group.
B. Permission Level
Once you have decided whom to provide access to for a particular folder, you will have to choose the Permission level you are granting access for. These permission levels are accessed through a drop-down list, as shown in Figure 7, below.
Figure 7: Permission level
These three Content Permission levels are explained below:
If you have Read access, this means that you can read, search, and get content from this folder, but you cannot delete or upload content within that folder, nor can you give others access to the folder, or revoke their access.
If you have Write access, you can read, search, and get content from this folder, and also delete or upload content. But you cannot give others access to the folder, revoke their access, or change any permissions.
3. Full Control
The Full Control option gives you ownership and complete control over the folder, and you can revoke or change permissions for any user—even the user who gave you access to this folder! You must therefore be very careful and be sure that you indeed want to provide others with Full Control access to your folders. All folders that you create have Full Control access provided to you by default.
The Sharing drop-down list allows you to choose whether or not to allow users to share files via Shufflrr’s shared email link. This will give users the ability to send content to any email address outside of or within the Shufflrr environment. If the content within a folder is confidential or sensitive, then set Sharing to No. If it’s for public consumption, like sales and marketing presentations, then set Sharing to Yes.
You see two options within this drop-down list, as shown in Figure 8, below.
Figure 8: Sharing options
Let’s explore both options:
This is the default option that is selected for you. If you make no changes to this default option, users with whom you shared a folder will be able to use Shufflrr’s share options to share files with others. Note that you can only change these Sharing options if you choose the Read or Write Content Permission levels. If you choose the Full Control level, then the Sharing is set to Yes, and you cannot change it to the No option—you’ll notice that the Sharing drop-down list is grayed out in this case, as can be seen in Figure 9, below.
Figure 9: Sharing grayed
You can choose the No Sharing option when you choose the Read or Write Content Permission levels. If you choose the Full Control level, then the No Sharing option cannot be turned on.
D. Add a permission
Once you have added users to share, chosen their Content Permission levels, and set their Sharing options, you will click on the Add a permission button to save your options. Until you press this button, none of your permission choices are implemented.
This is the first column of a table in which you can see existing users who have access to the chosen folder. All names of such users can be seen here, along with their headshots or gravatars.
In this column, you can see the Permission and Sharing privileges for each user.
In this column, you will find individual Remove buttons for each user. Be careful—once you click any of the Remove buttons, you cannot undo, although you can always add that same user as a new user again.
H. Apply to Child Folders
If you want to provide identical Content Permissions to Child Folders (subfolders) within your selected folder, make sure you also click the Apply to Child Folders button.
Change Rather than Remove Permissions
What if you want to change permissions rather than remove users altogether? You don’t have to remove users, or select them somehow to make changes. All you need to do is add the same user again, and provide different Content Permission levels, and Shufflrr is intelligent enough to change permissions for the existing user!